Visiting Duke

Interested students are strongly encouraged to visit and see for themselves the impressive resources and state-of-the-art facilities available both within the Pratt School of Engineering and across Duke, such as Duke University Medical Center and the Nicholas School of the Environment.

Each spring, Pratt’s doctoral degree programs invite a certain number of students who have applied for admission to their department to come to Duke for an expense-paid, full-day information session. These applicants are given tours of the Duke campus, meet current students and have the opportunity to meet with professors they may eventually work with.

Current students also host visitors for evening activities in Durham or neighboring Chapel Hill. These visits typically occur on the last Friday of January, February and March. If you are contacted by one of Pratt’s programs and invited to visit, we strongly encourage you to do so; that way you can experience for yourself our famous hospitality!

For those unable to attend on the special group dates, visits can be arranged with individual departments. Prospective students are also welcome to participate in the campus tours and information sessions led by the undergraduate admissions office. Please find details about where to stay, parking, and walking tours on the undergraduate admissions web site.

For more information on visiting the Duke campus, including maps, events, calendar, see http://visit.duke.edu.

For more information on visiting Pratt, please contact the following staff:

Biomedical Engineering

PhD Program

Adam P. Wax
Director, Graduate Studies
Phone: 919-660-5143
a.wax@duke.edu

Kathy Barbour
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 919-660-5132
kathy.barbour@duke.edu

Master's Program

Fan Yuan
Director, Master's Program
Phone: 919-660-5411
fyuan@duke.edu

Kristen Rivers
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 919-660-5590
kristen.rivers@duke.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Krishnendu Chakrabarty, PhD
Director of Graduate Studies
2513 FCIEMAS
dgs@ee.duke.edu

Ruby Carpenter
Administrative Assistant
919-660-5200
ruby.carpenter@duke.edu

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Krishnendu Chakrabarty, PhD
Director, Graduate Program
dgs@ee.duke.edu

Drew Hilton, PhD
Managing Director of Graduate Studies
adhilton@ee.duke.edu

Amy Kostrewa
Program Coordinator
919-660-5245
amy.kostrewa@duke.edu

Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science

Stefan Zauscher
Director, Graduate Program
919-660-5360
zauscher@duke.edu

Kathy Parrish
Administrative Assistant
919-660-5310
kparrish@duke.edu

Master of Engineering Management Program

Request a campus visit with MEMP's online form.