News Archive for Grad Student

Archive by Month

2010/2010 - Stephen Clark has won a 2010 National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship. He was selected from an applicant pool of more than 2,600. The NDSEG Fellowship is sponsored and funded by the Department of Defense and will cover full tuition and fees for three years and provide a yearly stipend. Stephen is pursuing graduate work in the aerodynamics area.
2009/2010 - The Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics awarded one-year fellowships through the John T. Chambers Fellows program the 2009-2010 academic years. The fellowships are awarded to new recruits evaluated on the criteria of research accomplishments, research potential, personal qualities, and collaborative potential.
2009/2010 - Graduate student Yang Zhao and electrical and computer engineering professor Krishnendu Chakrabarty won the best paper award at the IEEE International Conference on VLSI Design, held in Bangalore, India. This is a highly selective conference with 70 accepted papers this year out of 320 submissions. The paper, titled “Synchronization of concurrently-implemented fluidic operations in pin-constrained digital microfluidic biochips,” will be published in the proceedings of the IEEE...
2010/2011 - Second-year student Sara Duran and first-year student Akin Olugbade have each been awarded NSF fellowships that also provide the recipients with a stipend plus full tuition and fees for three years of doctoral study. Sara is advised by Professor Leslie Collins and Akin is advised by Professor Dan Sorin. Congratulations to Brandon, Sara and Akin.
2010/2011- ECE graduate student Brandon Noia has been chosen to receive the Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) Graduate Fellowship that provides a stipend plus full tuition and fees for up to five years of doctoral study. Brandon is advised by Professor Krish Chakrabarty.
2009/2010 - Graduate student Christina Arnaout received an honorable mention for the 2010 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program Competition. Arnaout is a member of the Environmental Molecular Biotechnology Laboratory and a student of Claudia Gunsch.
2009/2010 - Jing Tao, a doctoral student with Professor Ana Barros, was awarded a NASA Earth System Science Ph.D. Fellowship to investigate the Vulnerability of Water Resources in Southern Africa.  Specifically, she will be focusing on elucidating the role of the Angola High Plateau in the water cycle of the upper Zambezi Basin using models and remote sensing observations.
2009/2010 - Doctoral candidate Amrika Deonarine received the C. Ellen Gonter Environmental Chemistry Award from the American Chemical Society Division of Environmental Chemistry for her work in understanding how mercury becomes toxic in the environment. Her adviser is Assistant Professor Heileen Hsu-Kim.
2009/2010 - Master’s student Jennifer Shore won a best poster award in the student competition at American Water Works Assoc. and Water Environ. Assoc. Raleigh, Nov. 16, 2009 for her work titled "Application of a Moving Bed Biofilm Reactor for Ammonia Removal in High Temperature Industrial Wastewater.” Her advisers were Professor Marc Deshusses and Assistant Professor Claudia Gunsch.
2009/2010 - Doctoral candidate Sudeep Popat received a special award from the Air and Waste Management Association for his work in trichloroethene removal from waste gases in anaerobic biotrickling filters through reductive dechlorination. He is a student of Professor Marc Deshusses.

In the Media